Friday, December 03, 2004

Various Artists
Compilation #2
November 2

iPod loyalists alienated by DFA's vinyl-only releases can rejoice once again. Compilation #2 pulls together the singles the label has released since Compilation #1, along with an exclusive track from Black Dice and '80s proto-electro act Liquid Liquid's "Bell Head." Pixeltan bring gloomy bass lines and pulsing disco drums with "Get Up / Say What" while former Major Force members J.O.Y. add the percussive funk swagger the label is known for. Refreshingly, the Juan Maclean get some long-overdue exposure, with new tracks "I-Robot," the dub-electro riddims of "Dancehall Modulator," and their finest moment (and bass line!) to date in "Give Me Every Little Thing." Disc 3 is mixed, running the gamut of the back catalogue and winding down with the unreleased LCD Soundsystem track "On Repeat." (CJN)

No comments: